Our Story   The Tops Award   Other Awards   Host a Hockey Hero   Membership 

Our Organization and Mission

The R. I. Reds Heritage Society is a non-profit, tax-exempt corporation whose primary mission is to restore and preserve the fabled 51-year history of the Reds from 1926-27 through 1976-77.

The organization is dedicated to accomplish this priceless goal by:

  • Acquiring and organizing a large and loyal membership to share, foster and promote the teams glorious history
  • Collecting Reds memorabilia and artifacts that represent the teams rich heritage
  • Honoring past Reds players, administrators others once associated with the team
  • Assisting the youth within our community in their involvement in the game of ice hockey

The Society has an enrollment of more than 650 members a staggering number inasmuch as the team has been defunct almost 30 years. Membership costs only $25 per hockey season for which members receive three full-color newsletters and invitations to special events. 

Annual Reunion

Our Annual Reds' Reunion is the Society's cornerstone event. Titled "Look Back & Laugh," this year's Annual Reunion Weekend, our 17th, was held this past August 4-6.

Festivities included our traditional Friday "Meet & Greet" featuring national comedian, Mike Donovan; Saturday "Awards & Dinner Dance" featuring actor Paul D'Amato, the villainous "Dr Hook" of the cult hockey flick, Slapshot; and Sunday "Steak Fry & Barbecue" at Goddard State Park with silent auction, raffle, and presentation of our major annual awards.

This year's "Tops Award" was presented to Orland Kurtenbach in recognition of his great talents and contributions to the education of college-bound players in his native Manitoba. Our "Native Son Award" was presented to Joe Cavanagh, local hockey great and honored member of the USA Hockey Hall of Fame.

The Society's annual "Fan of the Year Award" was presented to the family of Len Tessier, longtime Society director and friend, who sadly passed away this past year. Former director Nick Azzarone received the Society's "Service Award" for his outstanding work with Reds' Facebook.

Also honored were Mark Divver, ProJo hockey writer, with the "Sage Service Award" and Bryan Berard, Woonsocket native and former NHL star, who received the "President's Leadership Award." Bryan was also the afternoon's outstanding Guest Speaker.

Our annual "Unsung Hero Awards" were also presented to six outstanding local high school boys and girls whose outstanding play on the ice was eclipsed only by their contributions to their local communities.

Like past reunions, this, too, was attended by several hundred fans, guests and Reds alumni and family including Bruce Cline, Don McKenney, Hartland Monaghan, Doug Keeler, Mike Bloom, Buzz Deschamps, Serge Boudreault, Ray Clearwater, Stan Baluik, Bobby Leduc, Ross Brooks, Tom Mellor, Pete Demers, Tom Army, Andre Mayer, and Shirley Toppazzini. Past attendees have included Johnny Bower, Ed Giacomin, Milt Schmidt, Fernie Flaman, Chuck Scherza, Howie Menard, Danny Lewicki, Bob Robertson, Ray Ross, Gil Mayer, Ed MacQueen, George Ranieri, Rick Middleton, and Bo Elik, to name just a few.

In support of the Reunion, funds generously donated to our Host a Hockey Hero program help to offset hotel expenses for out-of-town hockey players, most of who must travel long distances to attend the reunion. Host a Hockey Hero provides these legends with the special treatment they deserve.

Society Office:

R. I. Reds Heritage Society
PO Box 504
Lincoln, RI 02865

Telephone: 401-230-5905

Email for Society information:

Email for website issues:


  • Andre Mayer, President
  • Tom McDonough, Vice President
  • Bill O'Connor, Secretary
  • Bill Connell, Treasurer
  • Reba Golden, Director of Operations

Board of Directors:

  • Mike Bailey
  • Dick Bartlett
  • Vin Cimini
  • Frank Caparco
  • Buster Clegg
  • Jim Clegg
  • Roger Gladu
  • Mal Goldenberg
  • Joe Rocco
  • Rick Scherza
  • Bob Spaziano

Directors Emeritus:

  • Lou Amitrano
  • Tom Army
  • Nick Azzarone
  • Arnold Bailey
  • Andy Berg
  • Dan Butler
  • George Patrick Duffy (deceased)
  • Eddie Ellsworth
  • Pete Fontaine
  • Bob Leduc
  • Dick Reniere


Mike Bailey
email: webmaster@rireds.org


R. I. Reds Heritage Society
PO Box 504 Lincoln, RI 02895
Telephone: 401-230-5905
email: RIREDS15@gmail.com