Our Story   The Tops Award   Other Awards   Host a Hockey Hero   Membership 

Other Awards

The R. I. Reds Heritage Society has established several awards to honor the heritage and achievements of Rhode Island's past, current and future hocket stars.

The Society and the Rhode Island Interscholastic League established the Unsung Hero Award in 2011 to recognize high school hockey players, in both Girls and Boys Divisions, who consistently contribute to their teams' success. Each year, six awards are presented, to the goalie, defensive player and offensive player in both divisions. The three categories are named in honor of former Reds greats Gil Mayer (goaltender), Ferny Flaman (defense) and Chuck Scherza (forward).

In 2010, the Society established the R.I. Native-Born Hockey Achievement Award to honor native-born Rhode Islanders who have excelled in hockey and brought national prominence and pride to Rhode Island.

Last, the Society established the The Frank E. McCaffrey Fan of the Year Award to honor the die-hard Reds supporters who backed the team year after year through thick and thin.

The Unsung Hero Award

"Unsung Hero" Honorees (l-r): Zack Librizzi (St Raphael/PSW), Brittney Bidwell, Cranston East/E Greenwich Co-op), Victoria Hartley (LaSalle Academy), and David Gaulin (Smithfield HS). Not shown, Brynne Costa (E Providence HS) and Colin Clegg (Barrington HS).

Class of 2016

  • Chuck Scherza Award, Men: Zachary Librizzi, Saint Raphael Academy/PS
  • Chuck Scherza Award, Women: Brittney Bidwell, Cranston East/East Greenwich Co-op
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Men: David Gaulin, Smithfield High School
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Women: Brynne Costa, East Providence
  • Gil Mayer Award, Men: Colin Clegg, Barrington High School
  • Gil Mayer Award, Women: Victoria Hartley, LaSalle Academy

Class of 2014

  • Chuck Scherza Award, Men: Rudy Branca, Cranston East/West Co-op
  • Chuck Scherza Award, Women: Kelly Kraunelis, Barrington
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Men:Dylan Gastel, Wheeler 
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Women: Olivia Lucas, Barrington
  • Gil Mayer Award, Men: Matthew Wilson, Mount Hope
  • Gil Mayer Award, Women: Abbey Torres, Cranston Co-op

Class of 2013

  • Chuck Scherza Award, Men: Brian Belisle, Mount St. Charles
  • Chuck Scherza Award, Women: Lindsay Hadfield, Cranston
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Men:Nicholas Migliore, LaSalle Academy 
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Women: Victoria Piccirillo, La Salle Academy
  • Gil Mayer Award, Men: Connor Finn, East Greenwich
  • Gil Mayer Award, Women: Ashley Devolve, Cumberland/Lincoln's goalie

Class of 2012

  • Chuck Scherza Award, Men: T.J. Lynch, South Kingstown High School
  • Chuck Scherza Award, Women: Hannah Decelles, North Smithfield High School
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Men: David Susan Cavanaugh, Pilgrim High School 
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Women: Jenna Pari, La Salle Academy
  • Gil Mayer Award, Men: Colin Derek Hagopian, Cranston West
  • Gil Mayer Award, Women: Marissa Golda, Bay View Academy

Class of 2011

  • Chuck Scherza Award, Men: Timothy Ryan, LaSalle Academy
  • Chuck Scherza Award, Women: Kerri Nadeau, Ponaganset High School
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Men:Shane Studley, Barrington High School 
  • Ferny Flaman Award, Women: Caitlin Bray, Mount St. Charles Academy
  • Gil Mayer Award, Men: Daniel Foster, Mount St. Charles Academy
  • Gil Mayer Award, Women: Kathryn Varone, LaSalle Academy

Native Born Hockey Achievement Award

2016: Jack Ferreira, NHL hockey executive

2015: Ralph Warburton, R.I. college and Olympic hockey star; Jack Capuano, coach, N.Y. Islanders

2014: Dick Ernst, Rhode Island high school coaching legend

2013: Don and Tom Mellor; a father-son duo whose hockey roots grew out of Cranston. Don played for the old EHL Boston Olympics
and son Tom captained Boston College and later played for the USA National Team and then with the NHL’s Detroit Red Wings

2012: Bill Belisle, winningest high school hockey coach in the country, Mount St. Charles Academy

2011: Lou Lamoriello, general manager of the New Jersey Devils

2010: Sara DeCosta, two-time goaltender for the U.S. Women’s Olympic team

Frank E McCaffrey Fan of the Year Award

2016: "Lincoln Larry" D’ Alfonso, season tiket holder, fixture behind the visitors' bench and the sharp-tongued scourge of out-of-town players

2015: Ida "Mom" Reniere, who took in Reds players as boarders in the 1940s and '50s

2014: Joe Gagliardi, fan whose devition to the Reds dated to the 1940s

2013: Jim Clegg, hockey road warrior, whose travels have taken him to virtually every hockey venue and ice rink throughout the USA and Canada

2012: Bernadette “Chickey” Kurowski, Reds' stalwart


R. I. Reds Heritage Society
1 Penrod Avenue, Suite 1111, Riverside, RI 02915
Telephone and Fax: 401-270-0035
email: webmaster@rireds.org